top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

My Life as a Seed

Updated: Oct 18, 2023

“A farmer went out to sow his seed. As he was scattering the seed, some fell along the path; it was trampled on, and the birds ate it up. Some fell on rocky ground, and when it came up, the plants withered because they had no moisture. Other seed fell among thorns, which grew up with it and choked the plants. Still other seed fell on good soil. It came up and yielded a crop, a hundred times more than was sown.” Luke 8:5-8


Meditation:

While I was listening to this today it finally hit me how this story was about my life….. I realized that at some point in time I have been each of these seeds. There was a point in time when I didn’t think about God very much….I was a seed on the path…..then there was a time when I started to believe but it didn’t last long….I was the seed on rocky ground...then there was a dark time in my life where I fell in with wrong people …..I was the seed among the thorns….but thanks to God’s compassion and mercy I finally realized that I could still be forgiven and loved…..I became the seed that fell on good soil.


With God’s help I know that I too can sow seeds and that God will help them to grow, because I am not the ‘grower’ I am merely the sower.


What seed are you? Are you growing? Are you being trampled on? Or are you on Rocky ground? Are you living among the thorns? It doesn’t matter what seed you are you can become the seed in good soil and yield a crop a hundred times more than where you are…..It’s never too late to be planted in “good soil”.


Prayer:

God, thank you for patiently watching over me and taking me from being scattered on the path to planting me in good soil, and guiding me through this thing called ‘life’. I pray you watch over all those struggling either on the ‘path’, on rocky ground,or in the weeds, help them to get planted in good soil, in the name of your son Jesus, I pray your will be done. Amen


Author: Bernice Barnes

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comments


bottom of page