top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

Lifelong Projects: 1

Updated: May 20

Project 1: Taming my tongue.


For many years, when people would say “May I ask you something?” I would always reply “Don’t ask the question if you don’t want the answer.” Meaning that I would tell them the truth whether they wanted to hear it or not. I would not just tell them something they wanted or expected to hear, I would give my honest opinion and thoughts. Also I had a tendency to be harsh with my answer and sometimes not so friendly. Even though I was saying it out of love I didn’t always do it in a proper way. I never wanted anyone to be afraid to tell me anything but apparently over the years I have instilled that fear into some. For that I apologize.

 

But for me being sorry is not enough. I decided to examine my words and my actions. I decided it was time to “Tame my tongue”. So I began by speaking more slowly rather than quickly answering with my emotions rather than my thoughts. It’s not been easy by any means! Instead of insisting on the party asking the question to LISTEN TO ME, I now realize that is not my job. I am not anyone who has the power to judge another or their actions. I am merely a safe place for them to vent their concerns and be able to speak without fear of judgement or punishment.

 

Proverbs 15:4 The soothing tongue is a tree of life, but a perverse tongue crushes the spirit.

   

After reading this I decided it was time to tame my tongue and speak with a soothing tongue instead of the one I was using. So now I am in the process of doing just that. So if you ask me a question do not be surprised if I answer it differently than I have in the past. Forgive me if I have ever made you feel uncomfortable in telling me anything. I am a safe place to come to vent, cry, laugh, or sort things out.


James 1 :19 Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.


Reading this verse I realized I was only following the first part of this sentence....quick to listen, but I needed to work on being slow to speak and slow to anger....Thus the project of taming my tongue....there are many more projects yet to come, but this one is first.

 

Prayer:  

God, I pray you give me a soothing tongue and the wisdom to be quick to listen, slow to speak, and slow to anger. Help me to remember that I am not the “fixer” of the world and my ways are never as good as Your ways, in the name of your son Jesus, I pray your will be done. Amen


Author: Bernice Barnes

 

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comentarios


bottom of page