top of page
Sky
  • Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

Lifelong Project :5

Project 5: Complete Surrender


Once again this is a difficult step for me. To be honest the first time I heard the words ‘complete surrender’ to God I was terrified. Without going into a lot of detail let me just say that at one time in my life I completely surrender to an individual and it cost me dearly. I became completely brainwashed into thinking that without that person I could never survive and all the abuse, both physical and mental that was inflicted on me was for my own good. It took me years to overcome this and become the person God meant me to be.

 

So when the idea of ‘complete surrender’ came up I was scared. The only thing that gave me hope was when I looked back on all the hurt and past difficulties I went through and I remembered that when I cried out to God that I could not go on and I did not know what to do, I got through it. I have no explanation for why everything happened as it did but I know that God got me through all the difficulties better than I ever expected. God even put a person in my life, who encouraged me to trust in God for everything and anything. To be honest it took a while but every day I started talking more to God about everything, not just the ‘big’ things. Before I knew it I had completely surrendered to God and I have never been happier in my entire life.


Do I still have difficulties….of course, I’m human! Life is not about living without storms, it’s about going through the storms with God by your side.  “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. “ Isaiah 41:10


So for me I will never completely surrender to another person but I will never hesitate to completely surrender to God. It’s not always easy but it’s always worth it…. “I can do all this through him who gives me strength.” Philippians 4:13.


Prayer:

God, thank you for never giving up on me. Thank you for waiting patiently for me to completely surrender to you and trust you in all things. Thank you for the guidance and blessings you have given me all my life, even when I didn’t want to accept it. I pray you bless all those who are struggling with life’s difficulties and I pray you wrap your arms around them and keep them safe while you patiently wait for them to surrender to you. As always in the name of your son Jesus, I pray your will be done. Amen



Author:Bernice Barnes

 

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Spiritual Independence”

When they reached the place God had told him about, Abraham built an altar there and arranged the wood on it. He bound his son Isaac and laid him on the altar, on top of the wood. Then he reached out

“Independencia espiritual”

Cuando llegaron al lugar que Dios le había dicho, Abraham construyó allí un altar y dispuso la leña sobre él. Ató a su hijo Isaac y lo puso sobre el altar, encima de la leña. Entonces extendió su mano

Proyecto de toda la vida :5

Proyecto 5: Rendición completa Una vez más, este es un paso difícil para mí. Para ser honesto, la primera vez que escuché las palabras “entrega total” a Dios me aterroricé. Sin entrar en muchos detall

 Mission
   
 Our mission is to share the gospel of Jesus Christ with all people. Inviting them to believe and say "Yes" to Jesus.

                   Vision

 

Our vision is to spread the Good News to all the people of the world.

bottom of page