top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

“Forgive”

Jesus said: “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing. And they divided up his clothes by casting lots.” Luke 23:34


“…Our Father in Heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. And FORGIVE us our debts, as we also forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil one.” Matthew 6:9-13


Meditation:

These final words of Jesus are a grim reminder of the cruelty of humanity. It is easy to picture yourself in this setting, and the verses are rushed and unsettling. It all seems surreal and like it is over so fast. In a way, the life of Jesus is surreal and ends so quickly. The people around seem to barely notice Jesus, because he is just another person to be executed. Two others joined him that day, and the soldiers silently did their duty.

What a fitting end to Jesus' life: a reminder of his humility, sacrifice, forgiveness, and selflessness. The soldiers seem to not even notice, spending the time casting lots, essentially gambling, to see who would take the victims' possessions. Jesus, the Son of God, could ask for ANYTHING in this moment. He could DO anything in this moment. That is not our Savior's way.


Instead, he thinks of others, begging God to forgive them considering this grisly scene. From the beginning until the end, Jesus loved us, no matter how we treated him.

Some countries still execute criminals. In American popular culture, it is common to see these events depicted on TV or in movies, with the criminals given a chance to have their last words. What would your last words be?

In my case, I think that I would be pleading for my own life, hoping to save my own skin until the very end. Jesus is the way the truth and the life. In the Lord's Prayer, we say:

"…And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors” Matthew 6:12

God does forgive. Jesus even asked for us. How Blessed we are to have been created by Him.

Merciful Jesus, thank you, for being the shining light unto the entire world. Your example is one that all should follow, and I pray that I can be ever slightly more in your image with each passing day.


Prayer:

Forgive me, heavenly Father, for I have sinned: sinned against myself, sinned against others, sinned against your Son, sinned against you. As your only begotten said, we truly know not what we do. Thank you, O God, for trying to understand me even when I do not understand it myself. In the name of Jesus I pray. Amen!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comments


bottom of page