top of page
Sky
  • Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

Blessings in the Struggles

There was a time in my life not so long ago that I struggled every single day. I struggled physically with work, I struggled mentally with people and things around me…..I thought I was the “fixer” of the world and worried about everyone and everything around me. I ignored my needs physically and mentally trying to see to everyone else’s. I was miserable inside but smiling on the outside. In other words I was a hot mess that I hid from everyone…… everyone but God.

 

Now at this point in my life I did not have a real relationship with God. I believed in God, I always have but I didn’t go to him with my problems because I thought he was way too busy to mess with my little struggles. But he never gave up on me, instead he placed people in my path who did have a good relationship with him. A co-worker who was very much like me but she could see through the smile and one day when I was really struggling bad, she took me into the breakroom at work and prayed over me. At first I thought she was crazy but as she prayed over me I felt the pain and struggling I had been experiencing leave my body and mind. I actually felt really good! This was part of my beginning journey back to God.

 

This co-worker and another one started telling me there was a gentleman I needed to get acquainted with. Naturally I insisted I was way too busy for anything like that!! But the both kept insisting I needed to talk to him and get to know him. Finally I gave in and that’s when I met Jose. The first time I talked to him I felt like I had known him for years. We have been together ever since…11 years to be exact.

 

Now none of this would have happened if God had not put these people in my path. I would still be the miserable smiling person I had been for years. But with the help of these special people I began my journey back to God and started having conversations with him every day…I could never go back to my former self again because now I am truly happy, and at peace.

 

So take it from one who has experienced God’s blessings and knows they are real, everyone can have the peace and happiness I have found. Just start by really talking to God and asking him to guide you and trust me he will in ways you may not even recognize. There truly are blessings in the struggles….they are just harder to see. God bless and keep you safe always.



Bernice Barnes

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bendiciones en las luchas

Hubo un tiempo en mi vida, no hace mucho, en el que luchaba todos los días. Luchaba físicamente con el trabajo, luchaba mentalmente con...

Comments


bottom of page