top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

Precious Chances

Precious Chances

Every morning when I awake

I thank God for another day…

another chance to tell people I love them…

another chance to make a difference in someone else's life

whether it be by a smile, kind word, hug

or handshake.

Another chance to finish

the work I was sent to do

whatever that may be

most of the time I have no clue.

Another chance to enjoy

the sunshine, the clouds, the birds,

the trees, the quiet

and the crowds.

Another chance to explore, learn,

teach, question, and seek

your wisdom and grace

to prepare for the day I will get to see you

face to face.



Meditation:

Whenever I wake up with aches and pains I think about this poem I wrote on one of my "bad" days and remember how grateful I am to be alive. It never ceases to amaze me at how selfish we are. We as humans are always complaining about something and wanting more than what we have. Even those of us who have nothing and are grateful for everything, yes, even those people are minutely selfish. They sub-consciously wish for something more or better in their life or in the lives of those they love.


I have a simple thought on how to live a simple fulfilled life.

1) Never be too busy for a hug or handshake from anyone.

2) Always kiss your mom, grandma, or family member goodbye before you leave.

3) Always say good night to loved ones and kiss them before going to bed.

4) Never go to bed angry (it only causes insomnia).

5) Always thank God for your day no matter how good or bad it was.

These may seem like crazy rules but if you follow them then you are on the path of love and selflessness. When you take the time to do these few simple things you forget about "you" and remember others instead. This is doing God's will.


"Dear children, let us not love with words or speech, but with actions and in truth." 1John3:18


Prayer:

God help me to be the person you created me to be. Help me to help others and do your will not my own, today and every day in the name of your son Jesus, I pray your will be done. Amen

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comments


bottom of page