top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

Peace Marathon

Updated: Oct 18, 2023

"Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid." John 14: 27



Have you ever trained for running a marathon? Well, I never have but I know that it takes a lot of discipline and hard work....Personally, I'm not a "running" type of person, I'm more like the tortoise than the hare when it comes to getting somewhere.....especially now a days. But I do know people who love to run and train for marathons and races. I admire their dedication and enthusiasm.


Living in Peace is like running a marathon…..it takes training, discipline and dedication.


Peace is a choice and with choices come action. We have to choose to be at peace in the most irritating circumstances, whether that be waiting in a long line, waiting in the waiting room of a hospital, walking into a scary situation, or sometimes just getting out of bed not knowing if you would have a job that day.


Sometimes walking in peace is the hardest thing you will ever have to do. It is something that you have to actively work at every day, but when you walk in peace there is a joy that cannot be found anywhere else. When you walk in peace you are always in good company ......you are never alone..... When you actively seek peace "bumps in the road" become just that "bumps in the road".

When I began actively seeking peace my whole life changed.

How did I find peace you ask? Well, I prayed every morning before starting my day.....I talked to God all day long......more importantly I waited for God’s answer. There is no excuse for not having a conversation with God or waiting for his answer, even if the answer is no.


Now I must admit for me this was not easy at first because like most of us I had a million excuses why I didn't have time for God, but then I realized that just wasn't true......God doesn't care when or how we pray or talk to him, just that we do.....so for me I talk to God when I wake up....when I take a shower...when I'm crocheting or cooking or doing laundry. God speaks to me mostly when I am asleep because that's when he has a chance to talk.

Want to ‘walk in peace’? Begin your own “Peace Marathon” and see if your life doesn’t change for the better. Choose to live at peace and actively change the way you think the next time you face a difficult situation. Pray and ask for help from God and then patiently wait for the answer. There will be an answer….the answer that is right even if you don’t think so.


Prayer:

God, help us to actively walk in peace and seek your guidance in all aspects of our lives. Help us to be patient as we await your answer and live our lives to the fullest with peace, compassion, strength, and faith to accept your will not ours, in the name of your son Jesus, we pray your will be done. Amen


Author: Bernice Barnes



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Kommentare


bottom of page