top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

‘Our Unexpected Adventures’… Part 4

On Sunday we decided to take a taxi to the Museum of the Bible instead of driving the car. The ride there was very plesant and not too expensive. We got there just as they opened and this is where our next 'unexpected adventure began, we had to go through a metal detector, which neither one of us ever experienced before. We were told to remove our phones, keys and any metal objects and put them into a plastic box. Well, of course being a woman with a purse I started to empty it out but before I could the man told me to just leave it all in my purse and put my purse in the machine. I then proceeded to get my pouch out of my crochet bag and showed him that I had crochet needles and scissors in the bag, once again he urged me not to empty my bag, just put it in the machine along with my purse. In the meantime, Jose was emptying his pockets and put his phone and keys in the little box and started to unbuckle his belt when the officer said " Sir, please don't take off your belt. It's ok...." Well we went through the metal detector and I was ok, but Jose beeped because he forgot the phone he had on his belt! He uses his old phone to take pictures with along with his camera! Well, they waved the wand across him and said we were good to go.....


We went in to the museum and began taking pictures, well as we were going into one of the exhibits Jose noticed that he had forgotten to get his phone and keys from the little box in the machine!!! Panic!!! All his money, cards and ID were in his Phone case and our keys to the car were with them! We rushed back to the place we had just come out of and of course they were not going to let us back in until we explained we had forgotten his phone and keys. Needless to say we were both excited and were talking like crazy people trying to explain what had happened. The one officer reached on top of the metal detector for a phone and I immediately yelled "That's it!" He promptly said " M'am this is not your phone." but both Jose and I were trying to explain that his phone case was the same as the one the man was holding..... once again he said "M'am this is NOT your phone!! It's the one I am going to use to inform Lost and Found that you are coming there to find your phone." With that we apologized for being so rattled and went to lost and found where we encounterd a very nice young gentleman and who got someone to get our phone for us. While we were there all of the guards and some of the staff ran behind us at a high speed and the young gentleman explained that there was an emergency in another part of the museum. Note to self, make sure you get all your stuff out of the metal detector before you leave!!!





Our next adventure took place when we left the museum. We didn't leave until they closed and it was about to rain. I was trying to get hold of a taxi service and was put on hold, when Jose flagged a taxi down in the street. I hung up, and we got in. The driver was having difficulty getting his GPS to work to take us back to the hotel, so I offered him my phone because I already had it set to go. Well, he started out ok and then said it wasn't working but he knew where it was, well, come to find out he took us on a tour of the city along the Potomac River and we passed the Ronald Regan National Airport.We saw alot of the back streets that we would not have seen otherwise. In the end it costed us double for the ride home from the museum. We told the man we knew he took us the long way but we paid him and told him "God Bless you." I guess God just wanted us to see the scenic route before we went home.


Monday, we went to Landmark Honda when they opened and stayed there until they closed. While we were waiting Jose read a free book we got from the Museum of the Bible, and I crocheted of course. One salesman noticed me and asked if I wasn’t getting tired because I was almost done with my project. I just smiled and said I was fine that I crocheted all the time. He smiled and laughed.


They did a thorough diagnostics and fixed the problem. They even showed us that our tires had bad cracks in them and could present another problem. The cracks were on the inside of the tires and were not noticed in the other visits to the repair shops. They rotated and replaced the bad tires, and we were once again set to travel. We went back to the hotel and rested. Tuesday afternoon we decided to explore a little but when we went to start the car the battery was dead. We didn’t check and one of the van doors was not closed tight and drained the battery. By the grace of God there was a man in the lot who said he would give us a jump start. Once again, I called the repair shop and spoke to the man who took care of us the day before. He said to stop in, and he would check it out just to be sure because he wanted to be sure we would get home safely. We took it in and both he and the mechanic checked it out. They both assured us it was ok, and we would be safe driving it home. They were right. We made it home safely, but not before we ran into another ‘unexpected adventure’.


To be continued…...

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comentários


bottom of page