top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

“My Father’s House “

Updated: Oct 18, 2023

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? John 14:1-2


Meditation:

What do you imagine when you picture paradise? Most of us probably imagine a scene from a movie or cartoon, with angels flying around playing harps, and a gigantic human-like man with a beard that is God. The same can be said for hell: a red devil running around with a pitchfork surrounded by flames.


Obviously I have no idea whether or not these depictions are accurate and honestly, they are of no importance to me at all. In fact, I believe that these depictions are a distraction, taking away from the more important aspects of the Heavenly Kingdom. Remember this: there is plenty of room in Heaven for all of us. Christ is waiting for us and has shown us the way. However, we should not forget another point: there is also plenty of room in hell. The Devil is always looking for new tenants. The Heavenly Paradise that the disciples often describe, as the important theologian Thomas Aquinas once noted: “though often given human shape or proportion, is beyond anything we are capable of imagining. How heaven and hell look is not what we should be focusing on.”


What Jesus says about the Heavenly Kingdom is important. Do not be troubled, do not be afraid; God is waiting and has made a place for us in Heaven. Jesus lived to give us an example, so that each and everyone who lifts theirs heart up to the Lord and follows in Jesus’ footsteps shall be welcomed. Thanks be to God. Prayer:

Almighty God, I rejoice knowing that you will welcome us to Heaven, knowing that I have a place by your side. How great is your love and grace for sacrificing your only begotten Son, Jesus, so that we may live forever! In his holy name I pray.Amen!


Author: Bernice Barnes

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Commenti


bottom of page