top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

“Freedom”

“So if the Son sets you Free, you will be FREE INDEED. John 8:36 (NIV)

Meditation;

A Country founded “One nation under God’, “the home of the brave and the land of the free…”


“Freedom, the right to live, and the pursuit of happiness”, are the most important principles of the Constitution of the United States of America. Many people have fought and died for freedom…and many take freedom for granted! One of the most important symbols of this Country; The Statue of Liberty in New York City is emblematic of the American spirit: caring, welcoming, and free. The title of this devotional is in the inscription on the statue, written to welcome the new immigrants to the United States of America at the early part of the 20th century.

“Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free.”

America truly opened its doors at the time welcoming people from any country, of any creed or religion, and under most circumstances. The USA wanted the meek and lowly, offering them a chance at a better life, known as the “American Dream”

Take a look at the verses here and consider your own life:

Do you feel tired? Exhausted? Depressed? Anxious? Afraid? Lonely? Unloved? Overworked? Despair? Enslaved?

People, Friends, Brothers and sisters, there is hope!


Life may drag us down more than we like to remember, and so often we may stumble through our days tired, worn, and heavy hearted. Turn to the Lord: His word, His truth and His arms, for they are always open to receive us. If you don’t know where to turn, think of where you can go: the church. We are all there for each other, willing to worship, rest, and relax in the name of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior. We may feel beaten down at times, but God is there for us, waiting to take some of our load. It is our decision whether or not we ask.


“Human freedom” is man-made and therefore not the same for all and not available equally to all, but “Spiritual Freedom” is from God and that is free for ALL People indeed!!! Spiritual freedom cannot be taken away no matter the circumstances of the physical body. Spiritual freedom is truly Free Indeed!


Prayer:

Gracious and Merciful God; I come to you heavy with burden. I need you, my Lord. I love you. When I tire, please give me rest. Heal my broken bones and tired body through your word; ignite the light within my heart. Give me strength, when I falter and fail, for I wish to serve and labor only under you Lord, and wish to speak only your name. Dearest God, thank you for sending Jesus Christ our Lord and Blessed Savior to set us free indeed!

In Jesus name we pray, Amen!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comments


bottom of page