top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

"Focus...Focus...Focus"




Focusing plays an important part in our daily lives. For instance what do you see in the picture? A tree?....grass?....leaves?.....how many of you took time to see the squirrel?... or did you think it was some trash in the photo?...As for me I saw the squirrel first, then the grass, the tree, and finally the dead leaves. I chose to focus on the things that were not readily obvious in the picture, then I checked out all the rest of it.


I never realized how much this simple word affects our lives until the other day when I was working on a project I'm crocheting out of thread. In this case staying focused on the project at hand is important and remembering the mistakes you made is helpful to prevent them from happening again.

Sometimes though I find myself becoming obsessed with the mistakes I make rather than the beautiful work I am creating. This is when I have to tell myself...."Bernice, you are not perfect and it's ok to make mistakes, humans make mistakes.....that's how you learn....just do better next time and continue to do your best."

I think that this applies in life too. We all make mistakes. We all do things we wish we had done differently. But our mistakes do not define us! They are not who we are as a person. People unlike inanimate things change. People grow not only physically but mentally and spiritually too.


If we just focus on the mistakes we made we don't see all the good things we did. If we focus only on our past we lose sight of the present. The past is done and over...it is something we can no longer do anything about.....and our future is something we know nothing about.....the present is what we must focus on.


Focus on the present and make each and every day something worth remembering. You cannot look over your shoulder to see where you are going, you have to focus straight ahead to get to your destination.

Focus on following the example Jesus gave us....Love with an open mind and heart, unconditionally, with compassion and understanding. Following Jesus is not an easy task.....but the rewards are so worth it!


Prayer:

Heavenly Father, I pray you give us the wisdom, strength, and courage to focus on following Jesus, and living life to the fullest to the glory of your name. Help us to be less like us and more like who you meant us to be. Your children...in the name of your son Jesus, I pray your will be done. Amen

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comments


bottom of page