top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

Fighting Your Giants

Everyone has a "giant" in their lives. A "Goliath" so to speak. And each and every giant is Huge to the person battling them. All of us encounter a giant some time in our lives. A person, a situation, an addiction, or a disease that we don't have control over. Our Goliaths are huge and extremely difficult to fight against. Sometimes it seems like we will never overcome our Goliaths.

I can only imagine how David felt as a young boy when he came up against Goliath in 1Samuel 17. But David didn't focus on the size and strength of Goliath, instead he focused on the size and strength of God. He knew he was not fighting Goliath alone, God was fighting Goliath through him!

This is where the true "Goliath" arises in a simple question..." Who do you think you are?". This is the real Goliath we all face......that one question of identity, "Who do you think you are?". This is the real battle we all fight.

I wonder...... how many of us can say we truly trust God with our lives? Do we always give everything over to God and trust that it will all work out? I know I don't always completely trust God..... yes I have not been completely trusting and my faith at times has been shaken..


There have been times I have tried to fight my own battles.....and I have failed terribly every time. It is at those times that I have come to learn that even though I tried and failed when I finally give my giants over to God things worked out for the best. This is something I practice on a daily basis. I practice giving things up to God daily because if I don't I find myself thinking I can do things by myself and pride and ego try to slip in to my life....this is what I call my demons.

Like Goliath my demons can be huge and they are not easy to ward off. But I know that with the help of God my demons can be defeated and driven away. I know this because in Mark 9:23 , Jesus said "Anything is possible if a person believes." In Psalms 91:14-16 the Lord says: " I will rescue those who love me. I will protect those who trust in my name. When they call on me I will answer; I will be with them in trouble. I will rescue them and honor them." This is what allows me to conquer my demons and my "Goliaths".


Prayer:

God, I thank you for always being by my side in all my battles, even the ones I don't know I am in. Thank you for giving me the strength and courage to do the work you have given me to do, even when I may not want to do it. Thank you for slaying my "Goliaths" and my demons. All the glory and honor are yours now and forever more. Amen

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comentarios


bottom of page