top of page
Sky
Writer's picturecowmama60barnes

“Do Not Love the World”

Updated: Oct 18, 2023

“Do not love the world or anything in the world, if anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them. For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father, but from the world, and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.” 1 John 2:15-17


Meditation:

In this era, capitalism, consumption and materialism rule supreme. We are taught to constantly want in a manner that is unhealthy not only in preserving our resources on Earth, but also in matter of the soul!


The beginning passage says :"Do not Love the world". It does not mean we should not appreciate God’s creation. It is a commandment to not get attached to the superficial and fleeting love of worldly delights.


With the amount of options available in our times, we can see how society has changed. We can all witness this becoming a larger problem, not just for society but also as individuals.

Jesus said “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. John13: 34

In this one passage we see that Love of the Lord is the only true route to salvation.


Regardless of what a man owns or collects, what truly matters to God are not material things but rather what is in his heart. Actions speak louder than words therefore acts of kindness, love for others, words of encouragement, mean more than any treasures.


These are more valuable than all the 'treasures' of this world. Earthly treasures fade, and only provide pleasure for a moment, but doing the will of God gives eternal peace and joy. Prayer: Blessed Father, I have been weak more times than I could mention. I pray today that you will strengthen the bond between us and help me distance myself from earthly temptations.

I ask that you will light my path so that I can see that it is your love, and only your love, that is worth clinging to. Free me from this vicious cycle of consumption, the allure of greed, the temptation of lust and gluttony, and help me manage my pride to give all of what I have, all of what I am, to you. I pray all of this in Jesus' name. Amen.


Author: Jose Reyes


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“Descanso”

“Venid a mí todos los que estáis cansados ​​y agobiados, y yo os daré DESCANSO. Llevad mi yugo sobre vosotros y aprended de mí, que soy...

“Rest”

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you REST. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and...

“Fuente espiritual”

Un día, Jesús estaba enseñando, y los fariseos y maestros de la ley estaban sentados allí. Habían venido de todas las aldeas de Galilea y...

Comments


bottom of page